Bageltastic

Who loves Bagels?  We all do of course!   Yum to the max.  But also there is the ‘How Much?!’ element to them.  So I was very happy to see a bagel recipe in my new bread cookbook (Chrimbo pressie from mon papa) The River Cottage Bread Handbook.  We’ve had good luck with the scones and a nice loaf of bread so I thought we’d give bagels a try.  If you are looking to make some yourself there are many recipes online and even videos showing the process, just google it and away you go!

Not only were these fun, if time consuming, to make but they taste better than any store bought bagel I’ve ever had.  And who doesn’t enjoy boiling things?  It is just a satisfying thing to do.  I’d planned to  make these on a day where we weren’t going anywhere so the hours and hours of rising was fine, they just sat around on the counter while we got on with many other Sunday type things.

In between reading stories, playing music, some more stories, the bread rose slowly on the counter.  I have to be honest, I’ve been putting off making these as I was nervous about the new process.  But with my trusty helper at hand I had nothing to worry about.

Huwyl helped shape the bagels and put on the egg wash and the seeds himself.  He was very excited and waited (almost) patiently for the bagels to cook.  Of course reading a few chapters of Little House On Plum Creek helped to distract both of us, but we were listening for the timer with half an ear.  When they finally were ready we smeared them with butter and honey, letting them melt into the still warm bread.

Warm, crunchy, tasty and sprinkled by my very own helpmate.  We ate them warm, snuggled up on the sofa, just the two of us racing through the chapters of our favourite book.  They tasted perfect.

  1. #1 by erin on February 28, 2011 - 11:12 pm

    oh those bagels look just *amazing*. i think i need to try my hand at these. 🙂

    • #2 by emmalina73 on March 1, 2011 - 3:03 am

      They are well worth the effort!

  2. #3 by Mel Gallant on March 1, 2011 - 12:56 am

    mmm! Those look so tasty. Obviously well worth the wait!

    • #4 by emmalina73 on March 1, 2011 - 3:04 am

      Well they were all eaten by this afternoon so they were popular round here!

  3. #5 by movita on March 2, 2011 - 12:53 pm

    Amazing! To think I didn’t know you boiled bagels. How did I not know this? And they look so, so tasty. Bread/bread related yumminess is something I’d like to get into. Maybe I should try these!

Leave a Reply

