Oh So Tired

This song keeps going around in my head but the lyrics are I’m oh so tired….

So much going on, every day is packed and busy with more to do than there is time and energy to do it.  It is all good, the house is progressing, the chickens are laying, the boys are growing.  But I am oh so very tired.

I find the summer exhausting, does that seem odd to say?  The heat is draining, the sunshine a bit too much for this British girl.  Today it is raining and cool and I love it.   Though the glorious summers are to be celebrated, sometimes a little break from the golden brilliance is a relief.  Perhaps tonight I will sleep without tossing and turning in the humid night air.

Am I complaining?  I don’t mean to, I’m a lucky duck I know but I’m feeling more than a bit frazzled.  Juggling the demands of the build, spending hours each day organising parts, chasing people on the phone, talking to our builders, researching products online, makes for a full day.  And then there is all the ‘other’ stuff like feeding our family, regular chores, an hour or two of driving each day, chicken chores, a bit of homeschooling, meeting up with friends and some fun stuff for the kids….it goes on.

I know we are at the tipping point, approaching the downward slope.  Soon we will have passed the last hot and humid day of the year, soon the mornings will be crisp and the evenings cool.  Soon the harvest will be in and the nights will close around us like a warm blanket.  The air will smell like woodsmoke and we’ll be closing the windows at night.  And there will be time to rest.

But not yet, there is still more to do.  In the meantime Bjork is not the worst thing to have running around in your head and there is fun to be had in these last summer days.  Pool days, park days, golden summer days.

  1. #1 by Rain on August 10, 2011 - 2:54 am

    Oh she’s so cute! We haven’t listened to her since before my son was born…time to dig out those old school CDs (oy! they’re old school already.) I’m with you…summer is, indeed, draining. And I can’t imagine how much work home building is! Looking forward to more updates, but totally getting your exhaustion. Sending cool breezes your way!

    • #2 by emmalina73 on August 22, 2011 - 9:48 pm

      The cool breezes have arrived! And with them my sanity. But still the work and still the tired, but it is all in a good cause and we will be there so soon. Big week ahead on the house, I’ll keep you posted!

  2. #3 by redbeetmama on August 10, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    You have a way with words – you hit honesty right on the head. I always tell you this…I wished we lived closer than I could stop by with a meal and help fold laundry – you have a lot to get done Mama – but yes, don’t forget to enjoy THIS summer. You have today.

    Love & Light, Nicole

    • #4 by emmalina73 on August 22, 2011 - 9:49 pm

      Ok, we need to find a way to magically move your house and pop it in the next field, it’s the only way! Or perhaps a stop on a Canadian tour? The tea will be brewing anytime my friend : )

  3. #5 by valdoussaud on August 10, 2011 - 12:12 pm

    Oh i love this song!
    But, oh well, is there a slight touch of British spirit/rain-orientated mood in this beautiful description you make of late autumn evenings? 😉
    Just to share the spirit, I know this tiredness you’re experiencing (lots of huge things on my plate too, these days)…seems like a regular day is not enough to check out the do-do list, right? My nights are not long enough to catch up, but as you say, we are lucky ducks. A bit exhausted lucky ducks, but still…I wish you some providential, energizing rest Emma!

    • #6 by emmalina73 on August 22, 2011 - 9:51 pm

      Couldn’t you just put Bjork in your pocket? I’m sure if I could take her out and have her sing for me I’d be right as rain! What is it with these 24 hour days? Never, ever enough time to do it all. I’d love hear more about what you are up to aswell lady!

      Soon it will be winter and we can sleeeeeeep.

Leave a comment