Flourless Chocolate Cake

What do you do when you have a lot of extra eggs to use up and a poorly looking beloved in the house?  Yes, you guessed it, make a flourless, egg consuming chocolate cake.  Or in my case, two flourless, egg consuming chocolate cakes.

cake-7080cake-7081cake-7082cake-7084cake-7086Despite my terror of all things Martha Stewart (though I’m sure her recipes are written by minions chained to food processors in small cupboards not the great lady herself) I find the recipes on her website nice and reliable, with the joyous bonus of using real ingredients.  The flourless chocolate cakes are, as I write this, cooking away in the oven under the watchful gaze of my children who have contented themselves with licking the chocolatey mixing bowl while they wait for them to cook.

If the batter is anything to go by the cakes should taste lovely (and earn me brownie points at science club tomorrow), Huwyl is particularly impatient for it to be cooked.  This is how that chat went:

H: How long will the cakes be?

Me: A little while yet.

H: 10 minutes?

Me: A little longer than that.

H: (After a pause to consider his next bid carefully)  11 minutes?

You’ve got to love an optimist.

 

PS Just in case my friend Movita reads this I can assure you I folded the egg whites in at the end, I didn’t whisk them.  Please don’t send baking ninjas after me xxx

  1. #1 by movita beaucoup on December 3, 2012 - 8:47 pm

    I’m so glad you folded the egg whites in. I’ll call the ninjas off.

    (For now.)

    • #2 by emmalina73 on December 3, 2012 - 9:40 pm

      That’s a relief, though I did see a suspicious black clad character in a tree earlier with a light dusting of icing sugar around their face. Coincidence? I don’t think so…

      Btw the cake was as light as air, that folding was worth it!

Leave a comment