In Progress

I wish I could say that I could keep my kitchen looking like this all of the time, but that would be a very big lie.  As in, it could be seen from space due to it’s inordinate massivenessosity.  That’s pretty big.

Nope, most of the time the surfaces are covered in some kind of food in progress, either at the beginning or the end of the cooking/eating process.  Honestly, that’s the way I like it.

cooking-7541cooking-7526 cooking-7528 cooking-7529

I will freely admit, here and to the world, that I find making pastry really stressful.  I nearly cry every. single. time.  But, when it is done I feel so incredibly pleased with myself that it is worth it.  This is the first time I made pastry with our home grown, home rendered lard so it feels extra achievy.  Yes that’s a word.

cooking-7530 cooking-7534 cooking-7536

As well as knocking up some pastry I’m on a mission to use LOTS of eggs over the weekend.  We have a few, um, dozen that sort of, well, got frozen in the garage and so now are only good for baking.  Any egg laden recipes that you have up your sleeve please feel free to share!

I’ve used a dozen making two quiches (one with cranberry cheese that I’m particularly looking forward to) and I’m thinking a couple of flourless chocolate cakes and some meringues sound like a good idea too.  Sandwiched together with jam and whipped cream…just me and them, snuggled up together…sorry what was I saying?

cooking-7537 cooking-7543

Did your Mum make jam tarts with pastry offcuts?  Mine always did, doing anything else would, I think, lead to crushing disappointment.  These ones seem extra nice as they are made with the strawberry jam I made this summer, a taste of sunshine while we look out at the white and black landscape outside.

For quality control purposes I have inhaled sampled an undisclosed number of jam tarts and can report that the pastry is extremely flaky and delicious, soft on the tongue cupping perfectly the sweet but tart jam.  Lard and strawberry jam are the perfect partners; definitely worth the mess.

  1. #1 by Tara @ Bush Mama on January 4, 2013 - 6:18 pm

    Everything about this post made me giggle!

    • #2 by emmalina73 on January 5, 2013 - 3:08 am

      Hope your giggling keeps you warm and snug in your even snowier neck of the woods!

  2. #3 by pmpayette on January 4, 2013 - 7:44 pm

    Georgeous kitchen!!! What a workspace you have. I have never made jam tarts. My husband would be all over those.

    • #4 by emmalina73 on January 5, 2013 - 3:08 am

      Proceed immediately to jam tart making and reap the rewards of praise and joy upon your head!

  3. #5 by Trudy Abernathy-Neill on January 5, 2013 - 12:26 am

    oh my, how long will it take me to get there from my farm in Indiana? Hope to arrive while there are still some tarts to sample…lol. Well done, it is worth the mess. 🙂

    • #6 by emmalina73 on January 5, 2013 - 3:07 am

      Will attempt to fend off oldest child until you arrive!

  4. #7 by rosalindentree on January 10, 2013 - 6:42 am

    Yum! Can I come over!!
    I would make a boiled orange and almond meal cake. It uses six eggs and whips up in the blender. Delicious.
    Roselinde
    Actually make a double batch it’s worth it…

Leave a comment